From Past To Future Of Automobile Design

Posted: May 3, 2012 in Illustrator

Illustrator Project:

 

For this Illustrator project, as my concept, I  illustrated the evolution of automobiles from the first cars, to present day cars, and to hint at future models. Nowadays people depend on their cars for transportation to work, school, and many other places, but also as machinery that helps them get their jobs done. I focused more on the physical transformation of the automobile. I showed what most people perceived as beautiful back when the first cars came out, and how do most people see a beautiful car today. Future cars combine the aspect of being physically attractive to customers as well as using less gas or none at all. Future car concepts are also known for their ability to fly. I illustrated this through the Audi Calamaro Concept.

Illustrator Project Revision:

 

For the revision of this work, I ran a black and white trace on all the cars instead of color trace. This helps bring out the form of the car itself showing an evolution of type over time. I also eliminated the fades on top and bottom of the image because they only distracted the eye. Another thing that I modified is the timeline itself. I simply underlined the cars dates and names and connected it to the dot. This ties the timeline more strongly to the morphological analysis.

Leave a comment